All Forums | Main Page | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 NORWEGIAN GENEALOGY
 General genealogy
 Looking for Kristiansen's
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

Ingrid Yost
Starting member

USA
8 Posts

Posted - 14/10/2008 :  02:03:24  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello,
I am new to this and looking for direction. I am trying to find information on my father's family. I know from the 1900 census records that my grandmother Ingrid Kristiansen was born 1 Dec. 1897 in Vagen Parish. This was the first stumbling block because my grandmother claimed to be 2 years older than the record states. I presume this is the right record since the names of her parents and siblings matched the information I already knew.
My grandmother claimed to be 18 when my father was born 22 Oct 1914 and that her husband Olaf (Stavern/Slavern)?? was a merchant sailor who was killed Sept. 1914 when his ship was torpedoed by the Germans.
She said that they came to the US in 1918 but I can find no records to match this information. I did find an Ingrid Kristiansen who arrived NY on 29 May 1916 on the Kristianiafjord. The age at arrival seems to match but that passenger was listed as single and did not have a child with her.
She was married to Olaf Hansen here in the US possibly in the Jamestown NY area. Unknown on what year...he must have adopted my father since this is the surname my dad went by.
I have not been able to locate any records for my father given name Konrad Meier.
Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Ingrid Yost

Hopkins
Norway Heritage Veteran

USA
3351 Posts

Posted - 14/10/2008 :  02:25:58  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
You seem to say that you know the names of Ingrid's parents and siblings but then don't share that information here. It would be very helpful for you to give that information to us.