All Forums | Main Page | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 NORWEGIAN GENEALOGY
 General genealogy
 looking for lars and gunhild bakke...
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

michelle olson-williamson
Starting member

USA
5 Posts

Posted - 22/08/2009 :  21:59:45  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am just beginning to try to find information on my great grandmother’s family in Norway. Most of what I know about her I found in her obituary or in my grandmother’s Bible.

Anne Bakke was born 28 June 1872 in Gulbransdalen, Norway. She died 4 January 1946 in Mayville, Traill County, N.D., USA.

Anne’s parents: Lars and Gunhild Bakke
Her brothers and sisters: Thea (married Hans Eide) – born 1887
Ole Bakke – b. 1877 died 1966 in Oakley, MN, USA
Lars Bakke – imm. 1902, died in Clearbrook, MN, USA
Mary – born 1881? (married Ole Hendrum)
Anna (married ___Josephson)

Anne Bakke could possibly have arrived in America 1894, bu I am pretty sure she arrived in Fosston, MN 1902.

She married – Tom Olson in 1903 in Hillsboro, Trail County, N.D. USA
Children: Ervin Otto Olson (1904), Arthur Henry Olson (1905), Alice Mabel Olson (1907), Ida Terese Olson (1910), Victor Alvin Olson (1912)

It seems to me that when people emigrated from Norway to the US, they kept in touch with the folks back home… So I was wondering if this information enough to find out anything about Anne’s parents, Lars Bakke and Gunhild?

thank you so much

michelle ~
mwilliamson2000@aol.com

Hopkins
Norway Heritage Veteran

USA
3351 Posts

Posted - 23/08/2009 :  02:02:27  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Your problem might be harder to solve than it first appears. All of those names are very very common, Thea a little less common but we have no information that she emigrated or when.