All Forums | Main Page | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 NORWEGIAN GENEALOGY
 General genealogy
 Looking for Great-Grandfather Ole Stenfield's
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 5

Kåarto
Norway Heritage Veteran

Norway
5861 Posts

Posted - 05/12/2016 :  21:21:38  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Rachel_Turner

Kare:

A question regarding establishing Sami heritage: How do people in Norway formally establish Sami heritage? In the US if you have American Indian or Alaska Native heritage there is a procedure for establishing your bloodline as a direct descendant of an Alaska Native enrollee. Is there a similar procedure for establishing Sami heritage?

I am a bad teacher
Perhaps your question can answered here

Kåre

Edited by - Kåarto on 05/12/2016 21:22:07
Go to Top of Page

AntonH
Norway Heritage Veteran

USA
9200 Posts

Posted - 05/12/2016 :  22:33:13  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
To answer Janes question on the timing of the arrival in Washington and in Alaska I looked at the report.

INTRODUCTION OF DOMESTIC RlilNDIiHR INTO ALASKA.

"The 67 Laplanders, Finns, and Norwegians and their families who were brought from arctic Norwa}^ in connection Avith the relief of destitute peoples in the mining regions of Alaska arrived at the P^aton Reindeer Station, Unalaklik, July 30, 1898, and on the 31st of Jaiuuiry, 1899, they were transferred from the care of the War Department to that of the Interior.

Tho reindeer were landed fi'oiii the ocean steamer on the 27th of March, 1898, at Haines, Alaska."