All Forums | Main Page | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 NORWEGIAN GENEALOGY
 General genealogy
 Petter Evans/Evensen/Evenson 1868
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 7

Linda Robinson
Starting member

USA
24 Posts

Posted - 17/03/2017 :  17:47:58  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm searching for information on my great grandfather. The only information we have on him is information obtained from the US Federal Census. Born Jan 1868. Immigrated about 1885.

I've checked all passenger lists. I have a subscription to Ancestry and there are no clues as to his existence in Norway. I've also checked with Familysearch.org and have come to a dead end.

The stories have been told that he may have been adopted. Also, he was either in the norwegian navy but I've not been able to verify that information. The other stories have been that he worked on various ships from the time he was 14 and after a trip to the United States on one of these ships, he decided to stay here.

He worked in Baltimore City, Maryland at the docks and was considered a sailor. The US Federal Census for 1890 cannot be found so I cannot verify where he was at that time. I only information from the census beginning 1900. I have information on his life here but I need his life prior to leaving Norway.

If there is anyone out there that can help me find out more on my great grandfather, I would really appreciate it. I can be reached at dragnldy1300@gmail.com.

It's been a long difficult road and I'd like to learn as much as I can. Thank you

jwiborg
Norway Heritage Veteran

Norway
4961 Posts

Posted - 17/03/2017 :  18:44:02  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The 1900-census says he's been naturalized. Have you found his Naturalization papers?

I think it is this one: # 20
Peter
Born: 20 Jan 1869
illegitimate birth