All Forums | Main Page | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 NORWEGIAN GENEALOGY
 Norwegians in America
 Scandinavia, WI Olsen/Olson Arkaas Arkaasa Arkose
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 5

enigma
Starting member

USA
29 Posts

Posted - 28/05/2007 :  17:44:57  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Total newbies to geneaology are curious to learn if there is a way to determine the names of all children/grandchildren born to this "Olson/Olsen"~"Arkaas/Arkaasa/Arkose" family, originally from Sandsvaer, Norway.

I've only located one birth certificate ONLINE which might be connected, it is to yet another spelling, Akasa - a Carl Arkasa born in the same county - namely, Waupaca, Wisconsin.

We've found one translation for the surname to English, which would be 'arcade,' but are curious if the surname Arkaas/Arkaasa actually relates to something in Norway, say, a farm or small village, or perhaps something arctic, as in that first syllable 'ARK' -- like the word "arktos."

Is there any way to figure this out online, the descendants, without undue expense - or would something like this require a trip to the town of Scandinavia, Wisconsin to hopefully check church registries of births, presuming such even exists, or would it mandate hiring a professional?

Also... surely with all those "Olsens/Olsons" (apparently surnames) -- it would be nigh impossible to trace anything further in Norwegian records, right? Or is this actually feasible nowadays?

INDIAN LAND

Ola Olson Arkaas from Sandavaer & w Sigrid, - also son Knut O. Arkaas and wife. Jonette Iverson from Trondhjem, and Arne O. Arkaas (1837-92) & w Guri Riste. ...

http://www.mainstreet-marketplace.com/Indianland.htm   ( - 471k)

scan.txt

ARKOSE   Arne C.     1837   1892   II     1    
Veteran Civil War

ARKOSE         Jonetta         1844   1886   II