All Forums | Main Page | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 NORWEGIAN GENEALOGY
 General genealogy
 Rogne vs Rognehaug
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Mary McNeeley
Starting member

USA
12 Posts

Posted - 20/04/2011 :  21:40:45  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am new at researching my Norwegian ancestry. Both of my maternal grandparents emigrated to the US and settled in Minnesota. I have found my grandmother, Tena Rogne, listed on the Ellis Island website as Torstine Rognehaug. Her siblings who emigrated also used the surname Rogne. Help! How do I research her family? I know she lived in Bergen and came to the states in 1917. I would love to know about her parents, etc. Thanks!

Hopkins
Norway Heritage Veteran

USA
3351 Posts

Posted - 20/04/2011 :  22:05:36  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
The Digitalarkivet website has emigration registers for various Norwegian ports, including Bergen.
Torstine Eriksdatter (farm name Rognehaug) actually left Bergen on or about 9 Oct 1916 and she was from Sogndal, Sogn og Fjordane, Norway (not Bergen).
http://digitalarkivet.uib.no/cgi-win/webcens.exe?slag=visbase&sidenr=21&filnamn=EMIBERG&gardpostnr=85915&sokefelt=skjul

First, study the basics -
http://homepages.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~norway/articles.html

Then you might be interested in starting to learn to use the Digitalarkivet website -
http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~norway/DigitalArchives.html

Go to Top of Page

Hopkins
Norway Heritage Veteran

USA
3351 Posts

Posted - 20/04/2011 :  22:09:49  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
In the 1900 Norwegian census she and her family did not live on a farm called Rognehaug, but her father is using that as a 'surname' so that indicates that he probably has history with such a location.