All Forums | Main Page | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 NORWEGIAN GENEALOGY
 General genealogy
 Translation of occupations Oppassercondition and L
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

CRasmuss
Starting member

USA
7 Posts

Posted - 10/09/2015 :  04:19:48  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
In the 1875 census my wife’s 2nd gr grandmother Marthe Paulsen’s occupation is listed as “Oppassercondition” and her daughter, Fanny Paulsen’s occupation as “Linierske.”

My three most reliable Norwegian-English translation tools and Google searches turn up nothing. Is there any help available?

Both are in household no.: 55 at the following 1875 link. http://digitalarkivet.arkivverket.no/en-gb/ft/person/pf01052055022888

This is my first time request on this very wonderful website as a new member,

Tusen Takk Carl R.

jkmarler
Norway Heritage Veteran

USA
7765 Posts

Posted - 10/09/2015 :  05:46:27  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
My 1949 Gyllendals Norsk Engelsk Ordbok doesn't have the oppassercondition but does have this as a possible for "Linierske"
"Linjere" which means "rule" a verb meaning to draw an underline.
Go to Top of Page

Hopkins
Norway Heritage Veteran

USA
3351 Posts

Posted - 10/09/2015 :  13:38:16  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Einar Haugen's 'Norwegian English Dictionary' lists that the word "opppasser" is an archaic term which meant servant.